Know The Borders #1

about the reopening of the borders belgium

Belgium – COVID 19 

#reopening of #borders.

The European Council’s recommendation on the reopening of external borders was formally approved on 30 June 2020. This applies to travelers from 14 different countries, namely Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia, and Uruguay + to travelers from China on condition of reciprocity as of July 1st, 2020.

At the international level, it means that entry into Belgium is limited to 11 categories of travellers with an essential function or need (see below).

  • Healthcare professionals, health researchers, and elderly care professionals;

  • Frontier workers;

  • Seasonal workers in agriculture;

  • Transport personnel;

  • Diplomats, staff of international organisations, military personnel and humanitarian aid workers in the exercise of their functions;

  • Passengers in transit;

  • Passengers travelling for imperative family reasons;

  • Persons in need of international protection or for other humanitarian reasons respecting the principle of non-refoulement;

  • EU citizens and citizens of Schengen Associated States and third country nationals legally residing in the European Union, as well as their family members (when entry visa is required for a short stay in Schengen), regardless whether or not they are returning home;

  • Third-country nationals travelling for the purpose of study;

  • Highly qualified third-country workers if their employment is necessary from an economic perspective and the work cannot be postponed or performed abroad.

Travelers must take into account the current sanitary measures in Belgium, including a 14-day quarantine. They will also have to complete a document before boarding. This document, once completed, will be considered as a condition for entry.

#knowtheborders #traveler #europe #Belgium